May 2, 2012


                             In the wake of the highly successful on-going Under-12 league, which is nearing the quarter-final stage, Liga 1MCC’s Hong Leong Yamaha 2012 Under-14 competition has also drawn overwhelming response.
Chairman of 1MCC Dato Chan Tien Ghee with the Teams.

The Under-14 league, sanctioned by the FA of Malaysia (FAM), will kick-off on May 19, and has drawn 30 teams – 29 from the Klang Valley and one from Sitiawan, Perak.

Chairman of 1MCC, Dato’ Chan Tien Ghee was delighted with the overwhelming response from the Klang Valley teams but  said “cost factors” saw lack of teams from other states.

“Still it is an encouraging response. Shall I use my favourite word ‘onwards’ as we lay down the groundwork for Malaysians to improve their football game overall,” said Tien Ghee.

“We need to keep improving. We have a long journey to go and must remember that nothing comes easy. Out of the 30 teams in the Under-14 league, nine are new and this is encouraging indeed, signals that we are on track.

“The (Under-14) league also reveals that 1MCC provides a platform for youths from walks of life, different social, economic and racial backgrounds come together in pursuit of the football career.
“I call on these young footballers to aspire to be good in what you do...have dreams. Make your dreams a reality. I have a dream and it is to have a Malaysian or Malaysians up there playing the game at a higher level as a professional footballer.”

The only team from outside Klang Valley in the Under-14 league is Perkasa FC who were drawn in Group B. The top eight teams from each group will qualify for the second round knock-out stage.

To be eligible to play in the league, players must be born on or after 1 January 1998. Players who are under the State Project Schools and National Schools Football development Program are also not allowed to participate.

Matches will be played every weekend at the Rubber Research Institute grounds in Sungai Buloh, Selangor.

The Liga 1MCC was launched by Malaysia’s sports loving Prime Minister Datuk Sri Najib Tun Abdul Razak on April 8.

GROUP A – Tunas Lagenda FC, Remaja Bersatu FC, Lembaga Getah Malaysia FC, UKRC, Astaka FC, Kickezz Suntrack Football Academy, Perkasa FC, Proficient Football Academy, Jasmine Junior FC, GIS Academy, Gen Pro, PFKA Batu Caves, Royal Selangor Club, PNSB FC, Sweet Soccer Academy.

GROUP B – Junior Soccer Schools Malaysia, Permata Lestari, Ombak FC, MBJ United, Kido Kickers Academy, MBPJ Football Academy, CIMB-YFA Bintang Muda, Wira FC, Blues FC, PKNS FC, Remaja Puchong FC, Nadi Dahlia FC, Mahkota Football Academy, Anak Kalumpang, Semenyih Putra United.

No comments:

Post a Comment