Apr 28, 2010


Cyclist Mohd Azizulhasni Awang and squash queen Datuk Nicol Ann David were named the 2009 National Sportsman and Sportswoman respectively.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin presented the main awards and a RM10,000 incentive each to the two winners at the 2009 National Sports Awards here Tuesday night.Nicol, who won the award for the seventh time, was not present as she is still training in Amsterdam.

The award is the first for Azizulhasni, 22, the track cyclist based in Melbourne, Australia, who ranked first in last season's World Cup Series and also ranked first in the Keirin until March last year.The Terengganu-born cyclist, who is coached by John Beasley of Australia, showed consistent performance last year by winning the silver in the Keirin event at the World Championship in Poland in March before winning the gold in the same event at the World Championship in Beijing in April.

The national football team, who ended a 20-year gold medal drought in football in the SEA Games in Laos in December, was named the National Men's Team.

List of award winners at the National Sports Award 2009:

National Sportsman: Mohd Azizulhasni Awang (Cycling)
National Sportswoman: Datuk Nicol Ann David (Squash)
National Men's Team: SEA Games Football Team (Ahmad Fakri Shaarani, Amar Rohidan, Mazlizam Mohamad, Mohd Farizal Marlias, Mohd Baddrol Bakhtiar, Mohd Sabre Mat Abu, Mohd Amirulhadi Zainal, Mohd Asrarruddin Putra, Mohd Nasriq Baharom, S.Kunalan, Mohamad Aidil Zafuan Abd Razak, Mohamad Zakuan Adha Abd Razak, Abdul Manaf Mamat, Mohd Sharbinee Allawee Ramli, K.Gurusamy, Mahalli Jasuli, Mohamad Muslim Ahmad, Mohamad Azmi Muslim Norshahrul Idlan Talaha and Safiq Rahim).
National Women's Team: Leong Mun Yee, Pandelela Rinong (Diving)National Paralympic Sportsman: Mohamad Salam Sidik (Archery)National Paralympic Sportswoman: Norhayati Sarnoh (Lawn Bowl)
National Men's Coach: K.Rajagobal (Football), Yoong Thong Foong (Wushu)
National Women's Coach: No winner
National Leadership Award: The late Edmund Yong (Golf)
Sports Figure: No winner
Special Award: Dr T. Ponniyah (Karate)

No comments:

Post a Comment