Nov 24, 2010


After reaching their historic first ever men's hockey final in the Asian Games, Malaysia are now one match away from earning a direct ticket to the 2012 London Olympics if they beat Pakistan for gold medal in Guangzhou.

Malaysian Hockey Federation president Tengku Abdullah Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah, wants the team to put aside the euphoria and celebrations on the 4-3 win over India in the semi-final at the Aoti Hockey Stadium on Tuesday and switch their focus on tomorrow's final against the new-look Pakistan.

"We have to forget the fantastic win over India. Let us switch our focus to final. It is an all-important match that we need to win for obvious win our first ever Asian Games hockey gold and more importantly earn a direct ticket to London Olympics," said Tengku Abdullah, who is also the Tengku Mahkota of Pahang.

Malaysia last played in the Olympics in 2000 Sydney and finished 11th. The Malaysians failed to qualify for the last two Olympics in Beijing (2008) and Athens (2004).

"Not many gave us a chance in Guangzhou but we have showed tremendous fighting spirit, guts and determination to make good after a rather disappointing outing in the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi last month.

"Let us rebuild Malaysian hockey and make Malaysia a powerhouse in the sport. It is a long process but what the present team has shown in the Asian Games, against the hockey giants in Asia, is something that we can be proud of.

"We have the hockey talent to take on the hockey giants in the world. Pakistan may have come with a new look side to Guangzhou after the disastrous outing the World Cup but they are the team to beat now as they have reached the final after knocking out defending champions Korea in the semifinals.

"We have to be wary of our opponents (Pakistan). But Pakistan can be beaten if we keep our focus on the match. Give your full commitment and determination, just like you showed against India and I am optimistic that we can achieve another positive result."

Tengku Abdullah thanked the band of Malaysians supporters who have turned up at the Aoti Hockey Stadium for every match to support the team.

"The Malaysian supporters have been simply great. They have come to cheer the team every time Malaysia played. In fact, I am pleased with everyone, from the media, team officials, contingent officials and all others who have thrown their support behind the team.

"Let us also not forget those who have kept glued to the Television back home. Hockey fans and supporters have been praying for the team. No matter where they are, let us not disappoint them for their tremendous support," added Tengku Abdullah.

Malaysia's best efforts in the Asiad since the Games were incepted in New Delhi in 1951, were winning the bronze medals. The last bronze effort was in Busan in 2002. The other bronze The other bronze medals were won in 1962, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982 and 1990.

Nov 11, 2010


The deadline for AFC’s Member Associations to return the nomination forms of candidates for the AFC Executive Committee elections for the 24th AFC Congress Agenda passed on November 6, 2010.The elections will be held at the Congress, which takes place on January 6, 2011 in Doha, Qatar.

The following is a list of positions on the AFC Executive Committee that are up for elections and the candidates who have applied to contest the positions.

AFC President
Mohamed Bin Hammam S. Al-Abdulla (Qatar)

FIFA Vice-President

West Zone
His Royal Highness Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein (Jordan)

East Zone
Dr Chung Mong-joon (Korea Republic)

FIFA Executive Committee Member

South Central Zone
Vernon Manilal Fernando (Sri Lanka)
Asean ZoneWorawi Makudi (Thailand)
East ZoneKohzo Tashima (Japan)
Zhang Jilong (China)

AFC Vice-PresidentWest Zone
Yousuf Yaqoob Al Serkal (United Arab Emirates)
South Central ZoneGanesh Thapa (Nepal)
Praful Patel (India)
Vernon Manilal Fernando (Sri Lanka)
Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat (Pakistan)
Ali Saeedloo (Iran)Aibek Alybaev (Kyrgyzstan)

Asean Zone
H.R.H. Prince Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah (Malaysia)

East Zone
Kohzo Tashima (Japan)
Richard K. Lai (Guam)
Zhang Jilong (China)

AFC Female Executive Committee Member
South Central Zone
Mahfuza Akhter (Bangladesh)

AFC Executive Committee Members
West Zone
H.E. Shk. Ali Bin Khalifa Al Khalifa (Bahrain)
Hussein Saeed Mohammed (Iraq)
Rahif Alameh (Lebanon)
Dr Hafez I. Al Medlej (Saudi Arabia)
Sayyid Khalid Hamed Al Busaidi (Oman)S
South Central ZoneGanesh Thapa (Nepal)
Praful Patel (India)
Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat (Pakistan)
Ali Kafashian (Iran)
Sardor Rakhmatullaev (Uzbekistan)
Ali Azim (Maldives)
Suhrob Qosimov (Tajikistan)

Asean Zone
Lee Boo Aun Winston (Singapore)
Francisco Kalbuadi (Timor Leste)
Tran Quoc Tuan (Vietnam)
H.A.M Nurdin Halid (Indonesia)
Zaw Zaw (Myanmar)Worawi Makudi (Thailand)

East Zone
Ganbold Buyannemekh (Mongolia)
Kohzo Tashima (Japan)
Richard K. Lai (Guam)
Zhang Jilong (China)

The term for all the positions is from 2011-2015.

Malaysia Can Still Make IT

MALAYSIA crashed 0-2 to mighty Japan in a men’s Group A football match at the Huadu Stadium in Guangzhou yesterday.

However, the injury-hit Malaysian team managed to keep the score down against the Asian powerhouse.

Asian No. 2 Japan are the favourites, having convincingly dispatched of hosts China 3-0 in their opening game on Monday.

Japan, fielding their Olympic squad (Under-21) in the Under-23 tournament, got their goals through Kensuke Nagai (26th) and Hotaru Yamaguchi (64th).

Malaysia, who edged Kyrgyzstan 2-1 in their opening match, still have a chance to qualify for the round of 16.

All they need to is a draw when they wrap up their Group A fixtures against China on Saturday.
China edged Kyrgyzstan 2-1 last night.

Nov 2, 2010

RIP Dato Paul Murugasu

Datuk Thanapalan Paul Murugasu passed away Monday morning at the Universiti Hospital di Petaling Jaya. He was 85.

Datuk Murugasu who served as the Honorary Secretary of FA of Malaysia secretary from 1980 to 1985, has been bed ridden since three years ago.

Datuk Murugasu took over as the honorary secretary from another respected administrator, Datuk Kwok Kin Heng. Datuk Paul Mony Samuel replaced Datuk Murugasu in 1985

May his soul rest in peace.

God Bless